

Regulations of the Establishment of the Committee for Sustainable Development, National Dong Hwa University

Approved by the 3rd session of the Administrative Council in the second semester of the Academic Year 2021/2022 on April 13, 2022

- Article 1 National Dong Hwa University (hereinafter referred to as "NDHU") has formed the NDHU Committee for Sustainable Development in response to the vision contained in the UN Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) to intensify its implementation in the dimensions of NDHU education, research, university social responsibility (USR), international links, and university affairs management and creating a sustainable campus characterized by friendliness, diversity, tolerance, recycling, and resilience.
- Article 2 This Committee has the following responsibilities:
 - 1. Deliberation, formulation, and promotion of development policies, targets, and strategies characterized by friendliness, diversity, tolerance, recycling, and resilience echo the spirit of the UN SDGs.
 - 2. Promotion of sustainable development-related research in sync with the latest international trends.
 - 3. Promotion of USR-related concepts and international sustainable development initiatives.
 - 4. Promotion of sustainable development education and cultivation of the sustainable development literacy of students, faculty, and staff members.
 - 5. Intensification of interdisciplinary partnerships with academic institutions in Taiwan and abroad.
 - 6. Creation of a sustainable campus environment.
 - 7. Review of NDHU sustainable development proposals or action plans.
- Article 3 This Committee shall be composed of 21-25 deans of first-level administrative or academic units with the University President serving as chairperson. The committee is made up of the following members:
 - 1. Ex-officio members: President, Vice President, Secretary General, Dean of Office of Academic Affairs, Dean of Office of Student Affairs, Dean of Office of General Affairs, Dean of Research and Development Office, Dean of Office of International Affairs, Director of Accounting and Statistics Office, Director of Personnel Office, all College Deans, the President of the Student Association, and two designated student representatives. The term of Committee members serve for two years; and may serve consecutive terms, but the Student Association President and designated student representatives are excluded. The term of student members is for one year.
 - 2. Executive secretary: The Executive Secretary who is appointed by the President coordinates the committee operations
 - 3. Advisory committee members: The Executive Secretary nominates



several professional faculty members who are appointed concurrently for a term of two years by the President upon formal request. Advisory committee members may serve consecutive terms.

- Article 4 The Committee may set up task forces with committee members serving as conveners following actual needs. Conveners may notify relevant units to attend task force meetings as required for the promotion of sustainable development on campus.
- Article 5 The Committee shall convene a meeting at least once a year. The chairperson shall serve as the meeting chair. Extraordinary meetings may be scheduled, and relevant units or personnel may be invited to attend as required. The meeting shall be started when half of the members or above attended. Resolutions shall be subjected to approval by half of the committee members in attendance or above.
- Article 6 Sustainability reports shall be submitted to the Administrative Council, the Expanded Administrative Council, the University Council, and other councils, or committees for deliberation by applicable procedures and the nature of discussed issues. The results of these deliberations serve as a key reference for the improvement and development of future policies.
- Article 7 Committee positions are unpaid, but off-campus committee members shall be entitled to attendance and transportation allowances. Non-university members who are invited to attend committee meetings shall be entitled to transportation allowances. Required funds shall be appropriated from NDHU budgets.
- Article 8 Matters not specifically covered in these Regulations shall be handled according to applicable NDHU regulations and council/committee resolutions.
- Article 9 These Regulations and all amendments hereto shall be promulgated and put into effect upon ratification by the Administrative Council and approval by the President.